Janek Bruno Werner.jpeg

Janek Bruno Werner

Leiter internationale Zusammenarbeit (Focal Point Iboamerikanische Räume)

"We live in a society of singularities. At the same time, unfortunately we often witness a short-lived and hysterical debate culture. A decent, democratic culture of debate builds bridges and creates understanding. The Youth Parliament Initiative makes an important contribution towards these aims, especially, but not only, for young people!"

Janek Bruno Werner was born in London, UK and grew up there as well as in Northern Germany. He first studied law in Berlin and then completed his bachelor's degree in cultural studies at the European University Viadrina. His main fields of study were social and historical sciences and his thesis on Central America in the 1980s, based on interviews with contemporary witnesses, made a generic contribution to the research into the history of the Cold War within the region.

 

In addition, he spent a semester at Queen's University Belfast, UK, where - in the midst of the "Brexit" turmoil - he studied international relations and history. He also obtained a postgraduate specialization in geopolitics and international relations at the Barcelona Institute for International Studies. This thematic focus now accompanies him in his master’s degree studies in global diplomacy at SOAS University of London.

 

Accompanying his studies, he worked for a member of the Berlin state assembly for more than a year and completed various internships, amongst others with the Federal Foreign Office and the German Bundestag. He currently resides primarily in Honduras, where he works on various projects and writes a weekly opinion-column on political issues published by the country's largest daily newspaper.

Janek Bruno Werner.jpeg

Janek Bruno Werner

Leiter internationale Zusammenarbeit (Focal Point Iberoamerikanische Räume)

"Wir leben in einer Gesellschaft der Singularitäten. Parallel dazu herrscht leider oft eine kurzlebige und hysterische Debatten(un)kultur. Eine, im doppelten Sinne, anständige, demokratische Streitkultur baut Brücken und schafft Verständnis. Die Initiative Jugendparlament leistet dazu einen wichtigen Beitrag, besonders, aber nicht nur, für junge Menschen!"

Janek Bruno Werner wurde in London, UK geboren und ist dort, sowie in Norddeutschland, aufgewachsen. In Berlin studierte er zuerst Rechtswissenschaften und schloss anschließend seinen Bachelor der Kulturwissenschaften an der Europa-Universität Viadrina ab. Seine Studienschwerpunkte waren die Sozial- und Geschichtswissenschaften und seine Abschlussarbeit über das Zentralamerika der 1980er Jahre hat, basierend auf Zeitzeugengesprächen, einen generischen Beitrag zur Erforschung der Geschichte des Kalten Krieges in der Region geleistet.

 

Zusätzlich verbrachte er ein Semester an der Queen´s University Belfast, UK, wo er – in Mitten der "Brexit"-Wirren – Internationale Beziehungen und Geschichte studierte. Am Institut für Internationale Studien Barcelona erwarb er außerdem eine postgraduierten Spezialisierung in Geopolitik und internationalen Beziehungen. Dieser Schwerpunkt begleitet ihn nun weiter im Masterstudium der Globalen Diplomatie an der SOAS University of London.

 

Studienbegleitend hat er über ein Jahr für einen Berliner Landtagsabgeordneten gearbeitet, sowie Praktika, unter anderem im Auswärtigen Amt und im Deutschen Bundestag, absolviert. Aktuell hält er sich primär in Honduras auf, wo er an verschiedenen Projekten arbeitet und eine wöchentliche Kolumne in der größten Tageszeitung des Landes zu politischen Themen schreibt.